A-Z Databases

The world's most comprehensive collection of African historical newspapers.

Explore African American history, culture and daily life in the 19th and 20th centuries.

Explore African American history, culture and daily life in the 19th and 20th centuries.

Explore African American history, culture and society in the 19th and 20th centuries.

Searchable books, pamphlets and speeches covering the lives of African Americans during the early Jim Crow period.

Crucial documents covering the lives of African Americans in the years following the Civil War.

African Newspapers: The British Library Collection. More than 60 African historical newspapers from the nineteenth century.

Searchable monographs, pamphlets, broadsides, government documents and ephemera enable researchers to explore America's distant and not so distant past. Available here: African History and Culture, 1540-1921: Imprints from the Library Company of Philadelphia; Black Authors, 1556-1922: Imprints from the Library Company of Philadelphia; Caribbean History and Culture, 1535-1920: Imprints from the Library Company of Philadelphia; Afro-Americana Imprints from the Library Company of Philadelphia, 1535-1922; The American Slavery Collection, 1820-1922: From the American Antiquarian Society.

Searchable American newspapers enable users to explore America's past. Available here: African American Newspapers Series 1, 1827-1998; African American Newspapers Series 2, 1835-1956 and Caribbean Newspapers, 1718-1876.

Thousands of commentaries on African American, Hispanic American, Asian American and Native American history covering foreign reactions to America's struggles with racial justice from the Jim Crow era to the Civil Rights movements and beyond.

Translated news broadcasts and publications of the international reaction to apartheid throughout the African Continent and around the world.

Contains more than 140 newspaper titles from 22 islands between 1718-1876.

HeinOnline Academic includes more than 100 million pages of multidisciplinary content in more than 100 subject areas, including history, political science, criminal justice, religious studies, international relations, women’s studies, pre-law, and many more. With more historical content than any other database, HeinOnline provides access to 300+ years of information on political development and the complete history of the creation of government and legal systems around the world. Among the many databases included, HeinOnline’s journal collection features nearly 2,800 periodicals relating to a variety of subject areas, with all coverage dating from inception to the most currently published issues in most cases.

Comprehensive preparation for the most popular graduate school entrance exams.

Translated journals, newspapers, scientific reports, and radio and television broadcasts from 19 countries in North Africa and the Middle East covering cultural, economic and political developments within the regions.

Niche Academy provides an easy-to-use learning platform & professional training to help mission-driven organizations solve big problems together.

Search the entirety of ProQuest to empower your research.

Searchable edition of one of South Africa's most important newspapers, with deep coverage of the country during the Apartheid Era.

The Nation’s Largest African American Video Oral History Collection

A fully searchable collection of historical newspapers from around the globe. This uniquely comprehensive online resource was created in partnership with the Center for Research Libraries - one of the world's largest and most important newspaper repositories.