Art: Databases and More

A guide to help you research and locate art materials at Fisk and beyond!

Recommended Databases

Europeana Collections
Europeana is a single access point to millions of books, paintings, films, museum objects and archival records that have been digitized throughout Europe. It is an authoritative source of information coming from European cultural and scientific institutions.
Gale Academic OneFile (TEL)
Provides access to scholarly journals, magazines, and newspapers in all major disciplines. Coverage from 1980's to present.
Gale OneFile: Fine Arts (TEL)
Covers such topics as drama, music, art history, and filmmaking with emphasis on full-text content for publications included in the Wilson Art Index and RILM bibliography. Formerly known as Fine Arts and Music Collection.
JSTOR: Art & Art History
JSTOR offers high-quality, interdisciplinary content to support scholarship and teaching. It includes leading academic journals across the humanities, social sciences, and sciences, as well as select monographs and other materials valuable for academic work.
Oxford Art Online
Includes over 200,000 articles that span ancient to contemporary art and architecture, as well as over 19,000 images of works of art, structures, plans, and artist signatures

Testing and Education Reference Center (TEL)
Taking a college entrance or licensing exam? Looking for a college or graduate school? Need help finding scholarships? Take online practice tests and use test prep ebooks. Search thousands of college and graduate school entries. Identify scholarships that meet financial needs.

Geggenheim Museum
On the Guggenheim Museum's YouTube channel, discover videos about art and artists from around the world, and go behind-the-scenes.
Museum of Modern Art
Learn more about modern art with MoMA. Watch interviews, artist bios and more!
Tate Britain
Tate YouTube brings you weekly videos about art and artists from around the world. Watch for interviews with artists, exhibition previews, celebrity art fans, live performance art and more.