Psychology: Databases and More

A guide to help you research and locate Psychology materials at Fisk and beyond!

Recommended Databases

Gale Academic OneFile (TEL)
Provides access to scholarly journals, magazines, and newspapers in all major disciplines. Coverage from 1980's to present.
Gale OneFile: Psychology (TEL)
Provides access to academic journals and magazines that cover the study of emotions, personality, and the human mind. Offers content in all fields of psychology of interest to both researchers and general users.
JSTOR: Psychology
JSTOR offers high-quality, interdisciplinary content to support scholarship and teaching. It includes leading academic journals across the humanities, social sciences, and sciences, as well as select monographs and other materials valuable for academic work.
Oxford African American Studies Center
The Oxford African American Studies Center provides students, scholars and librarians with more than 20,000 articles by top scholars in the field. This database has over 2,500 images, more than 700 primary sources with specially written commentaries, and nearly 200 maps have been collected to enhance this reference content
Oxford Scholarship Online
University Press Online with most current e-books in all academic disciplines.
PsycNET
Database includes articles and books from PsychArticles and PsychBooks. Database includes psychology and behavioral science disciplines affiliated with the American Psychological Association.

To access the databases for full-text articles and e-books:

Go to Fisk University homepage website
Select Academics on the main toolbar
On the Left navigation bar, scroll down and select Library
The screen changes to Library Services (right side of column)
Locate the Electronic Resources section and click the 'here" link to access direct links to the psychology databases.
If the link does not connect you to the full-text databases > a new window will open and ask for your Fisk credentials
The Fisk university credentials is your Fisk university email and the password you provide to access online learning.

Source- Report from State of Mental Illness in Tennessee

Highlights from Report:

20% of Tennesseans experience mental illness
Mental Illness is the leading cause of disability for people aged 25-44.
There are 200 classified forms of mental illness that range from mild to severe.
Some counties in TN have 1 mental health provider for every 7,100 people
Chemical imbalances in the brain, trauma, and genetics are causes for mental illness

Kevin Chapman- Youth Mental Health, Season 14, Ep.6 (aired 10/12/18)

Source: Better Tennessee sponsored by Blue Cross Blue Shield

Mental Health America of the MidSouth
Resources & Referrals in Tennessee by Dr. Tom Starling from Mental Health America of the MidSouth

In 2015, 1 and 5 Americans aged 18 and older have been diagnosed with a mental illness
Half of all chronic mental illness begins by age 14 and three-quarters begin by age 24
In 2015, 75% of children aged 4 to 17 received treatment for their mental disorders within the past year
Serious mental illness costs in the United States amount to $193.2 billion in lost earnings per year
Preventing mental illness and promoting good mental health involves actions to create living conditions and environments that support mental health

Behavioral Risk Factor Surveillance System (BRFSS)
BRFSS collects information on health risk behaviors, preventative practices, and healthcare access. Questions include recent mentally unhealthy days, anxiety and depressive disorders, mental illness and stigma, and psychological distress.
National Health & Nutrition Examination Survey (NHANES)
NHANES assesses health and nutritional status through interviews and physical examinations. Collected data cover a number of conditions, including depression and anxiety, symptoms of conditions, concerns associated with mental health and substance abuse, and mental health service use and need.
Youth Risk Behavior Surveillance System (YRBSS)
The YRBSS monitors health-risk behaviors including tobacco use, substance abuse, unintentional injuries and violence, sexual behaviors that contribute to unintended pregnancy and STDs.
National Survey of Children’s Health (NSCH)
NSCH examines the health of children including those with special needs with an emphasis on well-being, such as medical homes, family interactions, parental health, school and after-school experiences, and safe neighborhoods. The survey also collects information on the presence of a mental or behavioral problem.