Criminal Justice: Criminal Justice Home
A guide to help you research and locate Criminal Justice materials at Fisk and beyond!
Welcome!
Welcome Criminal Justice majors! This LibGuide is built to help Fisk students and faculty members find information and resources on criminal justice. Fisk University subscribes to JSTOR and Tennessee Electronic Library (TEL). Fisk University offers a Bachelor of Science degree in Criminal Justice. This program prepares individuals for the opportunity to acquire knowledge and capabilities that blend the theory and practice of criminal justice through a critical analysis of structural inequalities and injustices.
Quick Links
- A to Z Database ListFull list of databases the library subscribes to, including trial access.
- Fisk University Library HomepageFind general information on the Franklin Library including hours, the Special Collections Department and more.
- Franklin Library CatalogQuickly search the Franklin Library catalog to find books, articles and more!
- Interlibrary Loan FormCan't find the book you need at Fisk? You can have the book brought to Fisk via Interlibrary loan. Just filll out the form and send it to us.
Criminal Justice Recommendations
Introduction to Criminal Justice Research Methods by ISBN: 9780398087982Publication Date: 2014-07-07
A Book of Remarkable Criminals by ISBN: 9781177525718Publication Date: 2010-08-01Greed, love of pleasure, lust, idleness, anger, hatred, revenge, these are the chief causes of crime. These passions and desires are shared by rich and poor alike, by the educated and uneducated. They are inherent in human nature; the germ is in every man.
Recommended Databases for Criminal Justice
- Criminal Justice and Community Portal at Merlot"Use this portal to discover online learning materials, MERLOT members, journals, professional organizations, and news in your discipline."
- E-Book Directory: Crime and CriminalBooks, documents, and lecture notes for crime and criminal justice subjects.
- Gale Academic OnFile: Criminal JusticeProvides access to scholarly journals, magazines, and newspapers in all major disciplines. Coverage from 1980's to present.
- Gale E-BooksA collection of encyclopedias and specialized reference sources for multidisciplinary research. These eBooks are available 24/7 with no checkout.
- National Criminal Justice Reference Service (NCJRS)"A federally funded resource offering justice and drug-related information to support research, policy, and program development worldwide."
- Tennessee Electronic Library (TEL)Free resources for Tennesseans. Search for books, articles, newspapers and more from Gale databases.
Emily Bazelon & Stacey Abrams Mass Incarceration
Popular Scholarly Journals for Criminal Justice
The following scholarly journals are popular and access to the journals is available through Interlibrary loan (ILL) services. Please complete the Interlibrary Loan form and email to library staff.
- Applied Psycology in Criminal Justice
- Contemporary Justice Review: CJR
- Crime and Justice
- Criminal Justice and Behavior
- Criminology
- Journal of Criminal Justice
- Journal of National Security Law & Policy
- Journal of Quantitative Criminology
- Interlibrary Loan Request FormA request form for books and journals. Complete all the information and email to library staff.
- Black Lives Matter by PGI Syllabus Articles (available via ILL)Black Lives Matter articles by Routledge Taylor & Francis Group. Full-text articles are available through Interlibrary loan (ILL) request.
Book Spotlight
Encyclopedia of Race and Racism by ISBN: 9780028661957Publication Date: 2013-02-01Examines the anthropological, sociological, historical, economic, and scientific theories of race and racism in the modem era. Delves into the historic origins of ideas of race and racism and explores their social and scientific consequences.
Need Help? Email Me!
Related Guides 2
- Social JusticeA guide designed to help you research and locate Social Justice materials at Fisk and beyond.
- PsychologyA guide designed to help you research and locate Psychology materials at Fisk and beyond.
- SociologyA guide designed to help you research and locate Sociology materials at Fisk and beyond.
- HistoryA guide designed to help you research and locate History materials at Fisk and beyond.