Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Left of Black interview with Dr. Candis Watts Smith
Example of Secondary Resource- Story of Trayvon Martin
In CBS morning show, Travyon Martin's father tells the story of his son's murder. A mini-series, "Rest in Power: Trayvon Martin Story" produced by Paramount Network tells the story of family members of Trayvon Martin left looking for answers when police refuse to arrest Zimmerman due to Florida's Stand Your Ground law. Dated 7/30/2018
Examples of Primary Sources in Social Justice
Source Types for Social Justice
Examples of Primary, Secondary, and Tertiary sources
Tertiary sources organize information with the objective of making the information more accessible. This publication cycle attempts to be factual. Reference works such as dictionaries, encyclopedias and chronologies fall into this category. Indexes and abstracts are tertiary sources designed to help locate material on a specific subject or by a certain person.
Encyclopedia of Activism and Social Justice by
Publication Date: 2007-04-13
The encyclopedia is designed for readers to understand the topics, concepts, and ideas that motivate and shape the fields of activism, civil engagement, and social justice and includes biographies of the major thinkers and leaders who have influenced and continue to influence the study of activism.
Development of Hate Crime Stats
Development of Federal Hate Crimes Statistics – A Timeline:
- April 23, 1990: In response to a growing concern about hate crimes, Congress passed the Hate Crime Statistics Act which required data collection “about crimes that manifest evidence of prejudice based on race, religion, sexual orientation, or ethnicity.”
- From 1994 to 2009, several amendments were made to the Hate Crimes Statistics Act of 1990:
- 1994: Violent Crime Control and Law Enforcement Act added bias crime based on disability.
- 1996: Church Arson Prevention Act made hate crime statistics a permanent addition to the Uniform Crime Reporting (UCR) Program.
- 2009: Matthew Shepard and James Byrd, Jr. Hate Crimes Prevention Act added gender and gender identity biases, as well as hate crime committed by or directed against juveniles.
- In 2013: The director of the Federal Bureau of Investigation (FBI) approved the Criminal Justice Information Services Advisory Policy Board’s recommendation to expand the religion category by adding seven new religions and an anti-Arab bias motivation to the Hate Crime Statistics.
Where Do We Go From Here- Oprah OWN Spotlght
Tertiary source example in Social Justice
The Activist's Handbook by
Publication Date: 2013-08-26
Author Randy Shaw details how activists can best use the Internet and social media, and analyzes the strategic strengths and weaknesses of rising 21st century movements for immigrant rights, marriage equality, and against climate change. Shaw also highlights increased student activism towards fostering greater social justice in the 21st century.
Social Justice Websites
U.S. Department of Justice's Human Trafficking Publication Information