Homeland Security: Homeland Security Home
Welcome!
Welcome Homeland Security majors! This LibGuide is built to help Fisk students and faculty members find information and resources on homeland security. Fisk University subscribes to Oxford Scholarship and Tennessee Electronic Library (TEL). Fisk University offers a Bachelor of Arts degree in Homeland Security. This program prepares students in the program to gain an understanding of the modern challenges of transnational security, terror groups, and cyber warfare through a mix of theoretical and applied learning opportunities.
Quick Links
- A to Z Database ListFull list of databases the library subscribes to, including trial access.
- Franklin Library CatalogQuickly search the Franklin Library catalog to find books, articles and more!
- Fisk University Library HomepageFind general information on the Franklin Library including hours, the Special Collections Department and more.
Homeland Security - References
Introduction to Homeland Security
Using a broad lens, the authors explore key operational and content areas, as well as the practices and policies that are part of an effective homeland security program. With original essays from academics and practitioners, the book encapsulates the breadth of homeland security as it exists today.
Fundamentals of Homeland Security
The author focuses on the five core missions of homeland security: preventing terrorism, securing borders, enforcing immigration law, safeguarding cyber systems, and ensuring resilience to disasters.
Related Guides 2
- Criminal JusticeA guide designed to help you research and locate Criminal Justice materials at Fisk and beyond.
- Social JusticeA guide designed to help you research and locate Social Justice materials at Fisk and beyond.
- PsychologyA guide designed to help you research and locate Psychology materials at Fisk and beyond.
Recommended Databases for Homeland Security
- EBSCOhost E-Book: Homeland SecurityBooks, documents, and lecture notes about Homeland Security.
- Gale Academic OnFile: Homeland SecurityProvides access to scholarly journals, magazines, and newspapers in all major disciplines. Coverage from 1980's to present.
- Gale E-Booksa collection of encyclopedias and specialized reference sources for multidisciplinary research. These eBooks are available 24/7 with no checkout.
- Rand Corporation: Homeland Security and Public SafetyRAND conducts analyses and makes recommendations to strengthen the U.S. Department of Homeland Security across its full set of missions to prevent terrorism and enhance security, secure and manage America's borders, enforce and administer immigration laws, safeguard and secure cyberspace, and strengthen preparedness and resilience. In the area of public safety, RAND research addresses drug policy, crime, prison reform, and prisoner reentry, and other topics.
- Tennessee Electronic Library (TEL)Free resources for Tennesseans. Search for books, articles, newspapers and more from Gale databases.
Websites for Homeland Security
- Bibliography: Root Causes of TerrorismThis bibliography contains journal articles, book chapters, books, edited volumes, theses, grey literature, bibliographies and other resources on root causes of terrorism (i.e., the spectrum of factors which trigger, catalyst, or sustain terrorist activities by individuals or groups).
- Congressional Research Service Reports on Homeland SecurityAn unofficial collection of CRS reports on national security-related topics.
- Data and Statistics about the U.S.Provides data about the nation’s people and economy. Every 10 years, it conducts the Population and Housing Census, in which every resident in the United States is counted. The agency also gathers data through more than 100 other surveys of households and businesses every one to five years. You can explore the results of the surveys or find popular quick facts.
- Homeland Security Topics PageThe Department of Homeland Security handles 22 topics such as Human Trafficking, Civil Rights & Civil Liberties, Privacy, Election Security, Border Security, Immigration & Custom Enforcement.
- Rand Corporation: Homeland SecurityThe RAND Corporation is a nonprofit institution that helps improve policy and decision-making through research and analysis.
Book Spotlight
Homeland Security by ISBN: 9781536122725Publication Date: 2017-01-01President Trump has organized his security apparatus, offers observations on his NSA and HSA, notes the way Trump has fused the NSC and HSC support staffs, assesses how the new commander -in - chief might employ his decision making system in the event certain national security scenarios arise, and concludes with comments on the President's unique approach to national security decision making
