Special Education: Special Education Resources
Quick Links
- A to Z Database ListFull list of databases the library subscribes to, including trial access.
- Fisk University Library HomepageFind general information on the Franklin Library including hours, the Special Collections Department and more.
- Franklin Library CatalogQuickly search the Franklin Library catalog to find books, articles and more!
- Interlibrary Loan FormCan't find the book you need at Fisk? You can have the book brought to Fisk via Interlibrary loan. Just filll out the form and send it to us.
A Special Education Research
Implementing the Code of Practice for Children with Special Educational Needs : A Practical Guide
This new edition has been revised to bring teachers and other education practitioners up to date with the revisions to the Code of Practice due to come into force in January 2002.
A Comprehensive Guide to Intellectual and Developmental Disabilities
This volume fully prepares future educators, social workers, researchers, and clinicians to provide the best services and supports to children and adults across the life span. Tomorrow's professionals will discover what to do and how to do it as they prepare for their important work, and they'll refer to this user-friendly compendium year after year for information, insights, and answers.
Intellectual Disability : Some Current Issues
Most individuals have mild intellectual disability and the cause is generally not identified. A small percentage of individuals have severe deficits and will need lifetime supports. The diagnosis of intellectual disability requires formal psychometric testing to assess the intelligence quotient and adaptive functioning.
Case Studies in Special Education : A Social Justice Perspective
Students with disabilities are now more likely to receive a free and appropriate education in the least restrictive environment possible; however, the ideals of the law have not always been manifested in effective practice.
Books and Databases for Special Education
- Gale Academic OnFile: Special EducationProvides access to scholarly journals, magazines, and newspapers in all major disciplines. Coverage from 1980's to present.
- Gale E-BooksBasic books, encyclopedias about social sciences, humanities, and education.
- JSTOR: Special EducationIncludes books, journal articles, reference works for special education
- The National Academies Press: Special Education ReportsThe National Academies of Sciences, Engineering, and Medicine are private, nonprofit institutions that provide expert advice on some of the most pressing challenges facing the nation and the world. Our work helps shape sound policies, inform public opinion, and advance the pursuit of science, engineering, and medicine. Free PDF downloads on most reports.
- OER Commons: Special Education ResourcesOER Commons provides a curated collection of Special Education textbooks and resources.
- OECD Education Working PapersSelected studies of international education initiatives, drawing on the work of the OECD Directorate for Education.
Every Child Deserves a Champion by Rita Pierson
Special Education Resources
- The Evolution of Special Education (NAESP)Written by Kelli J. Esteves and Shaila Rao in 2008
- National Association of Parents with Children in Special EducationA place where parents of children in special education can find everything they need to know to be their child’s best advocate.
- National Center for Learning DisabilityNCLD improves the lives of the 1 in 5 with learning and attention issues by empowering parents and young adults, transforming schools, and advocating for equal rights and opportunities.
Special Education E-books
Need Help- Contact Me!
1st floor
Library Administration
Assistant Librarian office