PSY 341: Social Psychology: Books and Ebooks

*Full-text available at EBSCOhost*
How did psychoanalysis attain its prominent cultural position? How did it eclipse rival psychologies and psychotherapies, such that it became natural to bracket Freud with Copernicus and Darwin? Why did Freud 'triumph' to such a degree that we hardly remember his rivals? This book reconstructs the early controversies around psychoanalysis and shows that rather than demonstrating its superiority, Freud and his followers rescripted history. This legend-making was not an incidental addition to psychoanalytic theory but formed its core. Letting the primary material speak for itself, this history demonstrates the extraordinary apparatus by which this would-be science of psychoanalysis installed itself in contemporary societies. Beyond psychoanalysis, it opens up the history of the constitution of the modern psychological sciences and psychotherapies, how they furnished the ideas which we have of ourselves and how these became solidified into indisputable 'facts'.

*Full-text Available at EBSCOhost*
The exponential growth of clinical psychology since the late 1960s can be measured in part by the extensive-perhaps exhaustive-literature on the subject. This proliferation of writing has continued into the new century, and the field has come to be defined as much by its many topics as its many voices. The Oxford Handbook of Clinical Psychology synthesizes these decades of literature in one extraordinary volume. Comprising chapters from the foremost scholars in clinical psychology, the handbook provides even and authoritative coverage of the research, practice, and policy factors that combine to form today's clinical psychology landscape.

*Full-text Available at EBSCOhost*
he book gives pride of place to classic as well as contemporary concepts from the social psychology of disability and rehabilitation psychology that researchers and clinicians can use or adapt for their professional venues. The book's overarching message is an important one: The experience of most people with disabilities is not what nondisabled persons anticipate--contrary to the latter's beliefs and expectations, the former can lead full and normal lives. Thus, The Social Psychology of Disability is designed to counter stereotypical or biased perspectives aimed at an often overlooked minority group. The primary audience for the book is rehabilitation researchers and clinicians in psychology and allied fields (e.g., social work, nursing). A secondary audience includes policy makers and graduate students in rehabilitation and clinical psychology, as well as interested undergraduates.

*Full-text available at EBSCOhost*
Traditional social psychology assumes that the person has an already-existing nature that then becomes subject to the influence of the social environment. The Person in Social Psychology challenges this model, drawing on theories from micro-sociology and contemporary European social psychology to suggest a more 'social' re-framing of the person. In this book Vivien Burr has provided a radical new agenda for students of social psychology and sociology. Using concepts familiar to the social psychologist, such as norms, roles, demand characteristics and labelling, she argues for an understanding of the person where the social world is not a set of variables that affect a pre-existing individual, but is instead the arena where the person becomes formed.