Bioinformatics: Databases and More
A guide to help you research and locate bioinformatics materials at Fisk and beyond!
Videos and Playlists
- Codebasics: Data Science
This is a full data science course that any beginner (not having computer science background) can follow to learn data science. It has following topics covered,
1) Python
2) Jupyter Notebook
3) Numpy
4) Pandas
5) Matplotlib for data visualization
6) Machine Learning using sklearn
7) Deep learning using tensorflow 2.0 - CrashCourse-Biology
Tons of awesome courses in one awesome channel! Check out the playlists for courses in physics, philosophy, games, economics, U.S. government and politics, astronomy, anatomy & physiology, world history, biology, literature, ecology, chemistry, psychology, and U.S. history. - CrashCourse-Statistics/Other Math PrinciplesTons of awesome courses in one awesome channel! Check out the playlists for courses in physics, philosophy, games, economics, U.S. government and politics, astronomy, anatomy & physiology, world history, biology, literature, ecology, chemistry, psychology, and U.S. history.
- Khan Academy-Biology
Khan Academy is a nonprofit organization with the mission of providing a free, world-class education for anyone, anywhere. Our interactive practice problems, articles, and videos help students succeed in math, biology, chemistry, physics, history, economics, finance, grammar, and many other topics. - Khan Academy-Computer ScienceKhan Academy is a nonprofit organization with the mission of providing a free, world-class education for anyone, anywhere. Our interactive practice problems, articles, and videos help students succeed in math, biology, chemistry, physics, history, economics, finance, grammar, and many other topics.
- Ted-Ed
TED-Ed’s commitment to creating lessons worth sharing is an extension of TED’s mission of spreading great ideas. Within TED-Ed’s growing library of TED-Ed animations, you will find carefully curated educational videos, many of which represent collaborations between talented educators and animators nominated through the TED-Ed website (ed.ted.com).
Recommended Databases
- Gale Academic OneFile (TEL)Provides access to scholarly journals, magazines, and newspapers in all major disciplines. Coverage from 1980's to present.
- Gale OneFile: Information Science (TEL)Provides access to content essential for information professionals and other knowledge workers with topics covering all aspects of managing and maintaining information and technology, including usability, metadata architecture, publishing, business information, and more.
- Gale OneFile: Science (TEL)Connects researchers with the information needed to stay current on the latest scientific developments in wide variety of fields, including biological sciences, computing, engineering, mathematics, and technology.
- JSTOR: Biological SciencesJSTOR offers high-quality, interdisciplinary content to support scholarship and teaching. It includes leading academic journals across the humanities, social sciences, and sciences, as well as select monographs and other materials valuable for academic work.
- JSTOR: Computer ScienceJSTOR helps you explore a wide range of scholarly content through a powerful research and teaching platform. We collaborate with the academic community to help libraries connect students and faculty to vital content while lowering costs and increasing shelf space, provide independent researchers with free and low-cost access to scholarship, and help publishers reach new audiences and preserve their content for future generations.
- MedlinePlus (TEL)Provides information about diseases, conditions, and wellness issues. Learn about the latest treatments, look up information on a drug or supplement, or view medical videos in this free site produced by the National Library of Medicine, the world’s largest medical library.
- Oxford ScholarshipAccess thousands of outstanding academic books from Oxford University Press spanning twenty subjects, and updated every month.
- PubMedPubMed comprises more than 30 million citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books. Citations may include links to full-text content from PubMed Central and publisher web sites.
- Tennessee Electronic LibraryFree resources for Tennesseans. Search for books, articles, newspapers and more from Gale databases.
Need Test Prep? We Got You!
- Testing and Education Reference Center (TEL)
Taking a college entrance or licensing exam? Looking for a college or graduate school? Need help finding scholarships? Take online practice tests and use test prep ebooks. Search thousands of college and graduate school entries. Identify scholarships that meet financial needs.
