HON 111: Introduction to the Honors Program: Resources and More
A guide to help you research and locate materials for HON 111 at Fisk and beyond!
Resources on Du Bois
- American University, W.E.B. Du Bois Subject GuideList of biographical and critical works on Du Bois. *Note that the call numbers given are for the American University Library, but you can search for these items in the Franklin Library catalog (library.fisk.edu)*
- FBI Vault: E.B. (William) Du BoisFiles relating to FBI Investigation of Du Bois’ involvement with Socialism and Communism, 1942-1960.
- Project GutenbergFind many of W.E.B. Du Bois publications on Project Gutenberg for free download.
- University of Massachusetts CREDO Collection: W.E.B. Du Bois Papers:Includes over 100,000 items of correspondence (more than three quarters of the papers), speeches, articles, newspaper columns, nonfiction books, research materials, book reviews, pamphlets and leaflets, petitions, novels, essays, forewords, student papers, manuscripts of pageants, plays, short stories and fables, poetry, photographs, newspaper clippings, memorabilia, videotapes, audiotapes, and miscellaneous materials.
- W.E.B. Du Bois.orgCollection of online material on Du Bois. Includes a mix of primary and secondary sources. Detailed descriptions of available material, links to other online collections and information.
- W.E.B. Du Bois Center at UMass Amherst LibrariesThe Center was established in 2009 to engage audiences in discussion and scholarship about global issues involving race, labor and social justice.
Educational Videos
- CrashCourse
Tons of awesome courses in one awesome channel! Check out the playlists for courses in physics, philosophy, games, economics, U.S. government and politics, astronomy, anatomy & physiology, world history, biology, literature, ecology, chemistry, psychology, and U.S. history. - Khan Academy
Khan Academy is a nonprofit organization with the mission of providing a free, world-class education for anyone, anywhere. Our interactive practice problems, articles, and videos help students succeed in math, biology, chemistry, physics, history, economics, finance, grammar, and many other topics. - Ted-Ed
TED-Ed’s commitment to creating lessons worth sharing is an extension of TED’s mission of spreading great ideas. Within TED-Ed’s growing library of TED-Ed animations, you will find carefully curated educational videos, many of which represent collaborations between talented educators and animators nominated through the TED-Ed website (ed.ted.com).
Tips and Tricks for Finding Sources and Making Citations!
- CrashCourse-Navigating Digital InformationNeed help choosing reputable online resources? Check out this CrashCourse playlist!
- How to Spot Fake NewsA handy guide filled with tips to spot fake news and find reputable sources.
- Chicago Manual of Style OnlineThe Chicago Manual of Style Online is the venerable, time-tested guide to style, usage, and grammar in an accessible online format. It is the indispensable reference for writers, editors, proofreaders, indexers, copywriters, designers, and publishers, informing the editorial canon with sound, definitive advice.
- Determine If a Source Is ScholarlyLearn to determine if a source is scholarly. These resources will provide the most substantial information for your research and papers.
- Integrating QuotesLearn how to successfully use and integrate quotes into your paper.
- Purdue OWL: APA Citation GuideThese OWL resources will help you learn how to use the American Psychological Association (APA) citation and format style. This section contains resources on in-text citation and the References page, as well as APA sample papers, slide presentations, and the APA classroom poster.
- Purdue OWL: Chicago Citation GuideThe Chicago Manual of Style (CMOS) covers a variety of topics from manuscript preparation and publication to grammar, usage, and documentation, and as such, it has been lovingly dubbed the “editor's bible.”
- Purdue OWL: MLA Citation GuideThese OWL resources will help you learn how to use the Modern Language Association (MLA) citation and format style. This section contains resources on in-text citations and Works Cited pages, as well as MLA sample papers, slide presentations, and the MLA classroom poster.
- Turabian-Chicago Citation GuideA MANUAL FOR WRITERS OF RESEARCH PAPERS—also known as “Turabian”—is the gold standard for college and graduate students in virtually all academic areas. An introduction to Chicago-style formatting and citation generation, the manual aids students in clear writing, citing, and research practice. At the heart of Turabian is the idea that, no matter the format, the foundations of good research remain the same: to do it carefully, present it clearly and accurately, and follow academic standards for citation, style, and format.
Need Help With Your Bibliography?
Recommended Databases
- Gale Academic OneFile (TEL)Provides access to scholarly journals, magazines, and newspapers in all major disciplines. Coverage from 1980's to present.
- Gale InContext- Opposing Viewpoints in HistoryProvides primary sources, references, images, videos, news, and biographies related to history
- HeritageQuest OnlineCollection of genealogical and historical sources, with coverage dating back to the 1700s. Searches U.S. census records, full-text family and local history books, Freedman's Bank records and more.
- JSTOR: HistoryComplete full text (page images) for back issues of various leading scholarly journals.
- Tennessee Electronic Library (TEL)Free resources for Tennesseans. Search for books, articles, newspapers and more from Gale databases.
