PSY 231: Psychology of Women & Gender: Databases and More

Provides access to scholarly journals, magazines, and newspapers in all major disciplines. Coverage from 1980's to present.

Provides access to academic journals and magazines that cover the study of emotions, personality, and the human mind. Offers content in all fields of psychology of interest to both researchers and general users.

An archive of over 78,000 data sets (both publicly available and restricted) from research institutions and governmental sources from around the world.

Interviewees share their experiences with domestic abuse, cancer, autism, pregnancy, drugs, depression and more. Videos and transcripts available.

The world’s largest online archive of social science data.

JSTOR offers high-quality, interdisciplinary content to support scholarship and teaching. It includes leading academic journals across the humanities, social sciences, and sciences, as well as select monographs and other materials valuable for academic work.

This archive contains data for various studies on topics such as immigrants, higher education, families, and fertility.

The Oxford African American Studies Center provides students, scholars and librarians with more than 20,000 articles by top scholars in the field. This database has over 2,500 images, more than 700 primary sources with specially written commentaries, and nearly 200 maps have been collected to enhance this reference content

University Press Online with most current e-books in all academic disciplines.

The Pew conducts public opinion polling and demographic research. Datasets are available to the public after a certain period of time. Requires creation of a free account.

Database includes articles and books from PsychArticles and PsychBooks. Database includes psychology and behavioral science disciplines affiliated with the American Psychological Association.

BRFSS collects information on health risk behaviors, preventative practices, and healthcare access. Questions include recent mentally unhealthy days, anxiety and depressive disorders, mental illness and stigma, and psychological distress.

NHANES assesses health and nutritional status through interviews and physical examinations. Collected data cover a number of conditions, including depression and anxiety, symptoms of conditions, concerns associated with mental health and substance abuse, and mental health service use and need.

NSCH examines the health of children including those with special needs with an emphasis on well-being, such as medical homes, family interactions, parental health, school and after-school experiences, and safe neighborhoods. The survey also collects information on the presence of a mental or behavioral problem.

The YRBSS monitors health-risk behaviors including tobacco use, substance abuse, unintentional injuries and violence, sexual behaviors that contribute to unintended pregnancy and STDs.

The Chicago Manual of Style Online is the venerable, time-tested guide to style, usage, and grammar in an accessible online format. It is the indispensable reference for writers, editors, proofreaders, indexers, copywriters, designers, and publishers, informing the editorial canon with sound, definitive advice.

These OWL resources will help you learn how to use the American Psychological Association (APA) citation and format style. This section contains resources on in-text citation and the References page, as well as APA sample papers, slide presentations, and the APA classroom poster.

The Chicago Manual of Style (CMOS) covers a variety of topics from manuscript preparation and publication to grammar, usage, and documentation, and as such, it has been lovingly dubbed the “editor's bible.”

These OWL resources will help you learn how to use the Modern Language Association (MLA) citation and format style. This section contains resources on in-text citations and Works Cited pages, as well as MLA sample papers, slide presentations, and the MLA classroom poster.

A MANUAL FOR WRITERS OF RESEARCH PAPERS—also known as “Turabian”—is the gold standard for college and graduate students in virtually all academic areas. An introduction to Chicago-style formatting and citation generation, the manual aids students in clear writing, citing, and research practice. At the heart of Turabian is the idea that, no matter the format, the foundations of good research remain the same: to do it carefully, present it clearly and accurately, and follow academic standards for citation, style, and format.