PSY 231: Psychology of Women & Gender: Books and Ebooks

*Full-text available at EBSCOhost*
Gender and Culture in Psychology introduces new approaches to the psychological study of gender that bring together feminist psychology, socio-cultural psychology, discursive psychology and critical psychology. It presents research and theory that embed human action in social, cultural and interpersonal contexts. The book provides conceptual tools for thinking about gender, social categorization, human meaning-making, and culture. It also describes a family of interpretative research methods that focus on rich talk and everyday life. It provides a close-in view of how interpretative research proceeds. The latter part of the book showcases innovative projects that investigate topics of concern to feminist scholars and activists: young teens'encounters with heterosexual norms; women and men negotiating household duties and childcare; sexual coercion and violence in heterosexual encounters; the cultural politics of women's weight and eating concerns; psychiatric labelling of psychological suffering; and feminism in psychotherapy.

*Full-text available at EBSCOhost*
Gender differences are of interest in a wide range of disciplines. This diversity is reflected within this book, which provides a contemporary account of sex differences in areas such as social skills, play behaviour, creativity, motivation, temperament, classroom behaviour, self-esteem, trust, physical and mental health, visuo-spatial skills, spatial learning and imagery. The scientific research includes studies with infants, children, adolescents and adults, with contributions from researchers worldwide. Collectively, the chapters provide an up-to-date account and new insight into differences between males and females throughout development.

*Full-text available at EBSCOhost*
The social psychology of gender analyzes the ways gender shapes and is shaped by social interaction. This includes the cognitive processes through which gender influences the way we perceive, interpret, and respond to our social world; it also includes the mechanisms through which interaction defines and transmits meaning about gender. The volume emphasizes the importance of understanding gender as a multilevel structure that includes cultural beliefs and distributions of resources at the macro level, patterns of behavior at the interactional level, as well as roles and identities at the micro level.The volume begins with an introduction that discusses the overall theoretical and methodological orientation of the social psychology of gender. The first chapter after the introduction reviews the history of gender research in psychology, and in particular provides excellent accounts of research on benevolent sexism and backlash effects. The second chapter provides an overview of research on two types of stereotyping descriptive and prescriptive as well as offering suggestions for organizations interested in pre-empting these types of bias.

*Full-text available at EBSCOhost*
Engendering Psychology's treatment of issues is based solidly on scientific evidence and presented in a balanced manner. The text combines a developmental and topical approach. Denmark, Rabinowitz, and Sechzer explore the concept of gender as a social construction across the lines of race, ethnicity, class, age, and sexual orientation, pulling from the exciting new scholarship that has emerged over the last few years. Thoughtful discussion questions emphasize critical thinking skills, as well as encourage students to open a dialogue with both their professors and their peers. This text will help readers understand the concept of gender as a social construct in contrast to the concept of sex, which denotes biological differences. Upon completing this text, readers will have a deeper understanding of women and the knowledge that 'woman' is a diverse and multifaceted category.