Core 160: Composition II: Databases and More
A guide to help you research and locate materials for Core 160 at Fisk and beyond!
Books and Databases for English
- Gale E-BooksBasic books, encyclopedias about general sociology and famous sociologist
- Gale LiteratureProvides access to scholarly journals, magazines, and newspapers in all major disciplines. Coverage from 1980's to present.
- JSTOR: English LiteratureIncludes books, journal articles, reference works for sociology
- Lumen LearningBoundless provides one textbook that covers a variety of interrelated sociological topics including, Stratification, Inequality, and Social Class in the U.S., Deviance, Social Control, and Crime, Family, Aging, and Sexuality.
- OER CommonsOER Commons provides a curated collection of Sociology textbooks and resources.
- Oxford African American Studies CenterDatabase provides students, scholars and librarians with more than 20,000 articles by top scholars in the field. Over 2,500 images, more than 700 primary sources with specially written commentaries, and nearly 200 maps have been collected to enhance this reference content
Need Help? Email Me!
Learn More!
Educational Videos
- CrashCourse-Composition
Tons of awesome courses in one awesome channel! Check out the playlists for courses in physics, philosophy, games, economics, U.S. government and politics, astronomy, anatomy & physiology, world history, biology, literature, ecology, chemistry, psychology, and U.S. history. - Khan Academy
Khan Academy is a nonprofit organization with the mission of providing a free, world-class education for anyone, anywhere. Our interactive practice problems, articles, and videos help students succeed in math, biology, chemistry, physics, history, economics, finance, grammar, and many other topics. - Ted-Ed
TED-Ed’s commitment to creating lessons worth sharing is an extension of TED’s mission of spreading great ideas. Within TED-Ed’s growing library of TED-Ed animations, you will find carefully curated educational videos, many of which represent collaborations between talented educators and animators nominated through the TED-Ed website (ed.ted.com).
Need Test Prep? We Got You!
- Testing and Education Reference Center (TEL)
Taking a college entrance or licensing exam? Looking for a college or graduate school? Need help finding scholarships? Take online practice tests and use test prep ebooks. Search thousands of college and graduate school entries. Identify scholarships that meet financial needs.
Improve Your Critical Thinking
Tips and Tricks for Finding Sources and Making Citations!
- CrashCourse-Navigating Digital InformationNeed help choosing reputable online resources? Check out this CrashCourse playlist!
- How to Spot Fake NewsA handy guide filled with tips to spot fake news and find reputable sources.
- Chicago Manual of Style OnlineThe Chicago Manual of Style Online is the venerable, time-tested guide to style, usage, and grammar in an accessible online format. It is the indispensable reference for writers, editors, proofreaders, indexers, copywriters, designers, and publishers, informing the editorial canon with sound, definitive advice.
- Purdue OWL: APA Citation GuideThese OWL resources will help you learn how to use the American Psychological Association (APA) citation and format style. This section contains resources on in-text citation and the References page, as well as APA sample papers, slide presentations, and the APA classroom poster.
- Purdue OWL: Chicago Citation GuideThe Chicago Manual of Style (CMOS) covers a variety of topics from manuscript preparation and publication to grammar, usage, and documentation, and as such, it has been lovingly dubbed the “editor's bible.”
- Purdue OWL: MLA Citation GuideThese OWL resources will help you learn how to use the Modern Language Association (MLA) citation and format style. This section contains resources on in-text citations and Works Cited pages, as well as MLA sample papers, slide presentations, and the MLA classroom poster.
- Turabian-Chicago Citation GuideA MANUAL FOR WRITERS OF RESEARCH PAPERS—also known as “Turabian”—is the gold standard for college and graduate students in virtually all academic areas. An introduction to Chicago-style formatting and citation generation, the manual aids students in clear writing, citing, and research practice. At the heart of Turabian is the idea that, no matter the format, the foundations of good research remain the same: to do it carefully, present it clearly and accurately, and follow academic standards for citation, style, and format.