English: English Resources
A guide to help you research and locate English materials at Fisk and beyond!
Power of Reading- Alexia Safieh TEDxActonAcademyGuatemala
Quick Links
- A to Z Database ListFull list of databases the library subscribes to, including trial access.
- Fisk University Library HomepageFind general information on the Franklin Library including hours, the Special Collections Department and more.
- Franklin Library CatalogQuickly search the Franklin Library catalog to find books, articles and more!
- Interlibrary Loan FormCan't find the book you need at Fisk? You can have the book brought to Fisk via Interlibrary loan. Just filll out the form and send it to us.
E-Books about Literary Criticism for African Americans
Black Post-Blackness by ISBN: 9780252041006Publication Date: 2017-05-12A spotlight on how easy it is to flatten the Black Power movement as we imagine new types of blackness. Black Post-Blackness compares the black avant-garde of the 1960s and 1970s Black Arts Movement with the most innovative spins of twenty-first century black aesthetics.
Books and Databases for English
- Gale LiteratureProvides access to scholarly journals, magazines, and newspapers in all major disciplines. Coverage from 1980's to present.
- Gale E-BooksBasic books, encyclopedias about english as a subject.
- JSTOR: English LiteratureIncludes books, journal articles, reference works for english literature.
- Oxford African American Studies CenterDatabase provides students, scholars and librarians with more than 20,000 articles by top scholars in the field. Over 2,500 images, more than 700 primary sources with specially written commentaries, and nearly 200 maps have been collected to enhance this reference content
Open Educational Journals (OER) for English Literature
- Absolute ShakespeareAbsolute Shakespeare, the essential resource for for William Shakespeare's plays, sonnets, poems, quotes, biography and the legendary Globe Theatre.
- Anthology of 16th Century Renaissance English LiteratureA comprehensive guide to British literature of the Renaissance with over 100 original pages, biographies, and works never before published.
- Anthology of 17th Century English LiteratureA comprehensive anthology and guide to English literature of the Early 17th Century.
- Anthology of 18th & 19th Century English LiteratureA comprehensive anthology and guide to English literature of the 18th and 19th Centuries.
- Athena: Literature, Books, ListsThousands of open source electronic texts that are sorted by author's name
- Bartleby.com: Great Books OnlineThe preeminent Internet publisher of literature, reference and verse providing students, researchers and the intellectually curious with unlimited access to books and information on the web, free of charge.
- Contemporary Writers ProfilesThis unique, searchable database contains up-to-date profiles of many of the UK and Commonwealth's most important living writers. Also included are writers from the Republic of Ireland who the British Council has worked with.
- Mark Twain ProjectThe Mark Twain Project website offers unfettered, intuitive access to reliable texts, accurate and exhaustive notes, and the most recently discovered letters and documents.
- Representative Poetry On-LineCollection of poetry, edited by members of the Department of English at the University of Toronto from 1912 to the present.
- William Blake Archive"A hypermedia archive sponsored by the Library of Congress and supported by the University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill, the University of Rochester, and the Scholarly Editions and Translations Division of the National Endowment for the Humanities."
- Women Writers OnlineA database of texts by pre-Victorian women writers out of the archive and make them accessible to a wide audience of teachers, students, scholars, and the general reader.
Profile: Zora Neale Hurston
Zore Neale Hurston
Zora Neale Hurston, author of Their Eyes Are Watching God (1937). A novel of a black woman’s belief in self, made dramatic by her pride and determination, told in the country voices of her friends, kinsmen, and acquaintances.
Toni Morrison
Toni Morrison is an American novelist, essayist, book editor, and college professor. A Pulitzer Prize-winning historical novel for Beloved, Morrison went on to write other novels such as Sula, Bluest Eyes, Song of Solomon, Love, and A Mercy.
