History: History Home
Welcome!
Welcome History majors! This LibGuide is built to help Fisk students and faculty members find information and resources for history. Fisk University subscribes to JSTOR and Tennessee Electronic Library (TEL). Fisk University offers a Bachelor of Arts degree in History. This program prepares students the necessary prerequisites for coherent decision making in all areas of professional life, especially those useful for careers in international relations, public and corporate administration, and law.
Quick Links
- A to Z Database ListFull list of databases the library subscribes to, including trial access.
- Franklin Library CatalogQuickly search the Franklin Library catalog to find books, articles and more!
- Fisk University Library HomepageFind general information on the Franklin Library including hours, the Special Collections Department and more.
- Interlibrary Loan Request FormA request form for books and journals. Complete all the information and email to library staff.
History Reference Books
Black Georgetown Remembered : A History of Its Black Community From the Founding of “The Town of George” in 1751 to the Present Day, 25th Anniversary Edition
Drawing on primary sources, including oral interviews with past and current residents and extensive research in church and historical society archives, the authors record the hopes, dreams, disappointments, and successes of a vibrant neighborhood as it persevered through slavery and segregation, war and peace, prosperity and depression.
A Working People : A History of African American Workers Since Emancipation
In this book, historian Steven A. Reich examines the economic, political and cultural forces that have beaten and built America's black workforce since Emancipation. From the abolition of slavery through the Civil Rights Movement and Great Recession, African Americans have faced a unique set of obstacles and prejudices on their way to becoming a productive and indispensable portion of the American workforce.
A People's History of Poverty in America
In this compulsively readable social history, political scientist Stephen Pimpare vividly describes poverty from the perspective of poor and welfare-reliant Americans from the big city to the rural countryside.
Recommended Databases & Ebooks for History
- E-Book Directory: United States HistoryA Collection of e-books, conference notes, and journal articles.
- E-Book Directory: World HistoryE-books, journals, maps about World History.
- EBSCOhost E-books: HistoryA collection of e-books and reference books for History.
- Gale Academic OneFile: HIstoryProvides access to scholarly journals, magazines, and newspapers in 60 history related topics from American culture, history, and religion; Black history, Colonialism; Economy history; Middle Eastern History; Political movements; Slavery and slave trade; Tobacco industry; U.S. history 1789-1817; U.S. history 1945-present.
- Gale InContext- Opposing Viewpoints in HistoryProvides primary sources, references, images, videos, news, and biographies related to history.
- HeritageQuest OnlineCollection of genealogical and historical sources, with coverage dating back to the 1700s. Searches U.S. census records, full-text family and local history books, Freedman's Bank records and more.
- JSTOR: HistoryComplete full text (page images) for back issues of various leading scholarly journals.
- Tennessee Electronic Library (TEL)Free resources for Tennesseans. Search for books, articles, newspapers and more from Gale databases.
- African Americans and Jim Crow: Repression and Protest, 1883-1922Searchable books, pamphlets and speeches covering the lives of African Americans during the early Jim Crow period.
- Civil Rights in America: From Reconstruction to the Great SocietyPremier archive of official publications and primary source material related to civil rights in the United States from the 19th century through the 20th century.
- African Americans and Reconstruction: Hope and Struggle, 1865-1883Searchable books, pamphlets and speeches covering the struggle of African Americans for equality during Reconstruction.
History Related Websites
- European History Primary Resources (EHPR)The purpose of EHPS is to provide an easily searchable index of scholarly digital repositories that contain primary sources for the history of Europe.
- IPL African American Scientists and InventorsThis pathfinder is to aid researchers in their search for information on African American Scientists and Inventors. These resources represent sources that are easily accessible to the public in libraries and on the internet.
Book Spotlight
Lighting the Fires of Freedom by ISBN: 9781620973356Publication Date: 2018-05-08Examines the anthropological, sociological, historical, economic, and scientific theories of race and racism in the modem era. Delves into the historic origins of ideas of race and racism and explores their social and scientific consequences.
