ART 292: African Art: Databases and More

Formerly the Virtual Union Catalogue for Art History/VKK, this free search tool is a European specialized union library catalogue. It gives access to more than 6 million records in various European art libraries.

Links to artists, exhibitions and news from the African artists' community.

Europeana is a single access point to millions of books, paintings, films, museum objects and archival records that have been digitized throughout Europe. It is an authoritative source of information coming from European cultural and scientific institutions.

Provides access to scholarly journals, magazines, and newspapers in all major disciplines. Coverage from 1980's to present.

Covers such topics as drama, music, art history, and filmmaking with emphasis on full-text content for publications included in the Wilson Art Index and RILM bibliography. Formerly known as Fine Arts and Music Collection.

The Getty Research Portal™ is an online search platform providing access to digitized art history texts in the public domain. Scholars can search and download complete digital copies of publications for the study of art, architecture, material culture, and related fields.

JSTOR offers high-quality, interdisciplinary content to support scholarship and teaching. It includes leading academic journals across the humanities, social sciences, and sciences, as well as select monographs and other materials valuable for academic work.

Arcade is the catalog for the New York Art Resources Consortium (NYARC) including the Frick Art Reference Library and the libraries of the Brooklyn Museum and The Museum of Modern Art. It provides access to research collections spanning the spectrum of art history, from ancient Egypt to contemporary art.

Includes over 200,000 articles that span ancient to contemporary art and architecture, as well as over 19,000 images of works of art, structures, plans, and artist signatures

Search the Museum of African Art's massive online collection by keyword, artist, or cultural group.