ART 292: African Art: Galleries, Online Collections and Resources
A guide to help you research and locate materials for ART 292 at Fisk and beyond!
Galleries and Art at Fisk
- Carl Van Vechten & Aaron Douglas Art Galleries
Fisk University Galleries maintains a permanent collection of over 4,000 objects that span three centuries of art history. Paul Cezanne, Pablo Picasso, Alexander Calder, Henry O. Tanner, Elizabeth Catlett, Diego Rivera, Aaron Douglas, Winold Reiss, Georgia O'Keeffe and Alfred Stieglitz are just a few of the acclaimed artists represented in the collection. Pieces from the extensive collection are exhibited regularly in permanent and temporary installations at the university’s Carl Van Vechten Gallery and Aaron Douglas Gallery.
Online Exhibitions, Collections and Other Useful Resources
- Brooklyn MuseumThe Brooklyn Museum was one of the the first American museums to display African objects as art, and is one of the finest in the country, particularly in the art of Central Africa.
- Europeana CollectionsEuropeana is a single access point to millions of books, paintings, films, museum objects and archival records that have been digitized throughout Europe. It is an authoritative source of information coming from European cultural and scientific institutions.
- Google Arts & CultureThis site features content from over 1000 leading museums and archives. Search by artist, medium, movement, location, event, etc.
- Helibrunn Timeline of Art History (MET)Includes images, essays, and chronologies of art.
- Locate African Art CollectionsUse this Smithsonian source to locate museums in the United States which have collections of African Art.
- Museum of Modern Art Online CollectionMoMA's evolving collection contains almost 200,000 works of modern and contemporary art. More than 84,000 works are currently available online and can be viewed here.
- Smithsonian American Art Museum Online ExhibitionsCheck out past exhibitions of the Smithsonian American Art Museum.
- Smithsonian National Museum of African ArtLearn about the art and artists whose works make up the collection of the National Museum of African Art. Search by artist or object, browse highlighted themes or exhibitions within our collection, or create your own list to share.
Learn More!
Artist Highlight
From Tarzan to Rambo: English Born ‘Native’ Considers her Relationship to the Constructed/Self Image and her Roots in Reconstruction, by Sonia Boyce, 1987. Retrieved from the Tate Museum
Galleries in Nashville
- Cheekwood Estate and GardensOnce the family home of Mabel and Leslie Cheek, this extraordinary 1930s estate, with its Georgian mansion and 55 acres of cultivated gardens and expansive vistas, today serves the public as a botanic garden, arboretum and museum.
- Frederick Hart Studio MuseumLocated in Belmont University's Lila D. Bunch Library, the Frederick Hart Studio Museum pays homage to one of America’s greatest sculptors, Frederick Hart (1943-1999). This sculptor created works that forever changed the national landscape such as Washington National Cathedral’s Creation Sculptures and Three Soldiers bronze at the Vietnam Veterans Memorial.
- Frist Art MuseumThe Frist Art Museum opened in April 2001 and has since hosted touring exhibitions from some of the most prestigious collections in the world, as well as award-winning shows organized in-house.
- Leu Art Gallery & Gallery 121The Leu Art Gallery is located in the lobby of Belmont University's Lila D. Bunch Library, and Gallery 212 is located in the Leu Center for the Visual Arts (next to the library).
- Vanderbilt University GalleriesVisit the art gallery on Vanderbilt University's campus. They have a varied permanent collection as well as several rotating exhibitions. Admission is free, but it's recommended to call ahead to ensure the gallery is open that day.
Just for Fun!
Need Help? Email Me!
DeLisa Harris
she/hers
Contact:
John Hope and Aurelia E. Franklin Library
1st floor
Library Administration
Assistant Librarian office
1st floor
Library Administration
Assistant Librarian office
6153298731