Franklin Library Special Collections and Archives : Julius Rosenwald Fund Archives
Rosenwald Fellow
Lawrence Reddick, Fisk Graduate, Historian and Professor (1910-1995)
Links of Interest
- Rosenwald School DatabaseUse this free online database to find information about Rosenwald Schools in the southern United States.
- Women of RosenwaldThis digital archival exhibit, “Women of Rosenwald: Curating Social Justice, 1928-1948,” celebrates important historical moments and accomplishments in the careers of black female artists who were recipients of the Rosenwald fellowship.
About the Collection
The archives of the Julius Rosenwald Fund contain approximately 150,000 items, the bulk of which reflect activities of the Fund during the 1928-48 period. The Julius Rosenwald Fund was incorporatporated in Chicago on October 30, 1917, as a non-profit corporation having as its purpose the promotion of the "well-being of mankind." The fund from 1917 to 1928 remained largely under the personal control of the founder Julius Rosenwald (1862-1932). Mr. Rosenwald became president of Sears, Roebuck and Co. in 1909. Almost immediately he initiated a program of personal beneficence. His contributions knew no restrictions of race, creed, or color. Rosenwald first met Booker T. Washington in 1911, and from that moment until 1948, Negro interests realized the foremost benefits of Rosenwald Philanthropy.
Learn More!
Finding Aids
- Rosenwald, Julius Fund Archives (1-267), 1917-1948Consists of letters, reports, photos, manuscripts and scholarship information from the Julius Rosenwald Fund.
- Rosenwald, Julius Fund Archives (268-494), 1917-1948Boxes 268-494 of the Julius Rosenwald Fund Archives.
- Rosenwald, Julius Fund Archives (495-563), 1917-1948Contains boxes 495-563 of the Julius Rosenwald Fund Archives.
- Rosenwald, Julius Fund Archives (Supplement 2), 1917-1946Additional materials of the Julius Rosenwald Fund. Contains The supplement covers the years 1917 to 1946 and has 25 document boxes along with 11 custom size boxes.
