Franklin Library Special Collections and Archives : Home

The Fisk University Special Collections and Archive's mission is to collect, organize, preserve, and make available for scholarly use the official records of the university, the archives of other agencies and organizations, and the personal papers of individuals entrusted to the custody of the university. Special Collections is composed of three divisions: Reference Division (books, journals, periodicals, microfilm, ephemera, photographs, vinyl recordings, sheet music, and audiotapes), Fiskiana (Fisk University catalogs, yearbooks, other Fisk publications, related items, and ephemera), and Archives and Manuscripts (200 archival collections of many prominent African-American figures in history including artists, educators, writers, scientists, and scholars, as well as materials that detail the rich history of Fisk University). Fisk University faculty, staff, and students are highly encouraged to make use of the primary sources we offer to support their diverse teaching and research needs.

Special Collections items are non-circulating, and the use of fragile or archival materials will be permitted in the Special Collections Reading Room during open hours only.

The Special Collections and Archives are located inside the John Hope and Aurelia E. Franklin Library on the second floor. 

Hours: Tuesday-Friday 9:00am – 12:00pm; 1:00pm – 4:00pm

Research visits are by appointment only

Special Collections Books: There are three types of special collections books. Those located in the special collections, special collections cage, and rare book titles located in the Special Collections Vault. The library catalog will designate the location of a book.

• Special Collections books are non-circulating and can only be used within the library. In order to access a book, students must fill out the Special Collections Book Request slip which can be found at the reading room desk and at the front desk on the first floor. Slips can be turned into the Special Collections Librarian or to the person at the front desk. If a student wishes to use the book for more than one day, the book may be held at the front desk.
• Special Collection books that are located in the cage and vault can only be assessed by making an appointment with the Special Collections Librarian. Requests are considered on a case-by-case basis depending on the condition of the item.

Biography Files: Special Collections has a large collection of biographical files on notable African-Americans and other individuals related to Fisk. Many of our archival collections have a bio-file . Bio-files consist of articles, programs, newspaper clippings, and other materials. Students and faculty that wish to view a bio-file should contact the Special Collections Librarian.

Periodicals: Special Collections has a large collection of back issues of Ebony, Jet, The Crisis, Essence, and many other black periodicals.

Fiskiana: Materials in Fiskiana relate to Fisk University from its founding to the present time. The library vigorously collects all materials that are published by the university, issued by various departments on campus, published by faculty, students or alumni, or in any pertain to the university.  Fisk publications include the Fisk Herald, Fisk News, Fisk Oval (Year Books), Fisk Forum, and Fisk Catalogues.

*Biofiles, Periodicals and Fisk related materials are non-circulating and must be used in the reading room. Students do not need an appointment to access the files and are welcome to stop in to request access during Special Collection’s hours of operation.

John Hope Franklin (1915-2009)