Franklin Library Special Collections and Archives : Fisk Oral History Collection
Learn More!
About the Collection
Black Oral History Collection
The Fisk University, John Hope and Aurelia E. Franklin Library Special Collections Black Oral History Collection includes 700 interviews on audio cassettes with some transcribed and digitized. Founded in 1970 and strengthened in 1971-73, the collection’s interviews consist of persons who have been eyewitnesses, participants, or contributors to the African American experience globally. Oral History tapes can be accessed by students and faculty. There are many audiotapes of notable African-Americans in the collection that may relate to student's coursework. If a student wishes to access a tape, speak to the Special Collections Librarian. The Special Collections Librarian will set an appointment for them to come in and listen to the tape in the reading room. Oral History Tapes are not allowed out of the Special Collections Department.
Listen and Learn
- Oral History AssociationSince 1966, the Oral History Association has served as the principal membership organization for people committed to the value of oral history. OHA engages with policy makers, educators, and others to help foster best practices and encourage support for oral history and oral historians. With an international membership, OHA serves a broad and diverse audience including teachers, students, community historians, archivists, librarians, and filmmakers.
Oral History Topics
Civil Rights
Interviewees that deal with civil rights include Rev. Will D. Campbell (civil rights activist), Julian Bond (civil rights leader, 1973), Richard C. Gregory (comedian, civil rights activist, 1972), Aaron Henry (civil rights activist, labor organizer, 1973), Edwin Mitchell (physician, civil rights leader, 1972), Mansfield Douglas (local councilman, former president of the Nashville chapter NAACP, 1972), Amos Jones (pastor and civil rights leader, 1972), Curlie McGruder (civil rights activist (1973), Fannie Lou Hamer (civil rights activist, 1972), Ada L. Fisher (attorney, civil rights activist, head of Department of History and Social Studies, Langston University), Jimmy Stewart (editorial writer - BLACK DISPATCH, Oklahoma, civil rights activist, 1973) and Clara Luper (educator, civil rights activist, Oklahoma, 1973).
Finding Aids
- Fisk Oral History CollectionListing of tapes included in the Fisk Oral History Collection. Organized by interviewee, subject and date.
